Jan
30

this is my first blog post.  I am learning how to use a system with no training videos. Read More

Posted on Blog Example on January 30th, 2017


Jul
1

In Texas, “No Refusal” weekends are a policy directive aimed at DWI enforcement. Assume you hear on the news or radio that the coming weekend is a “No Refusal” weekend. Assume further that you happen to be out and about that... Read More

Posted on Texas Criminal Defense Blog on July 1st, 2016


Jun
30

No. The first thing I would point out is that the tag line of this post is not specifically directed at suspects or defendants. In other words, no one has a general legal obligation to speak to police. That doesn’t mean you should not call th... Read More

Posted on Texas Criminal Defense Blog on June 30th, 2016


Jun
20

In Texas a conviction for reckless driving can result in a fine of $200 and confinement in county jail for up to 30 days. Reckless driving is a rare hybrid offense in Texas. It’s not really a Class C misdemeanor. It’s not a Class B misde... Read More

Posted on Texas Criminal Defense Blog on June 20th, 2016


Jun
20

No one wants to be involved in a car accident. It’s a bad situation. Nevertheless, they happen. It’s why we’re all required by Texas law to be covered by a policy of insurance. So, in most cases, if you are involved in an accident&m... Read More

Posted on Texas Criminal Defense Blog on June 20th, 2016


Jun
19

Someone you know has been arrested, is in County jail, and wants you to get them out. What do you do? First, do a quick internet search for a Houston-based bail bond company. Your search will return innumerable results. Pick one. Call them. You&rsqu... Read More

Posted on Texas Criminal Defense Blog on June 19th, 2016


Jun
17

The first thing you could and should do is to disengage. Your relationship may or may not be over. You may or may not be able to work it out. You may or may not be able to get through this difficult time to become a stronger family or couple. But, n... Read More

Posted on Texas Criminal Defense Blog on June 17th, 2016


Jun
15

In the state of Texas there are two remedies available to a person who is trying to clean up a criminal record: (1) a petition to expunge; and (2) an order of non-disclosure. The eligibility requirements for each are different. Unfortunately, if you ... Read More

Posted on Texas Criminal Defense Blog on June 15th, 2016


Jun
13

There is no set rule in Texas law that determines the amount of bail to be set. Instead, the rules that regulate the setting of bail state that the bail “shall be sufficiently high to give reasonable assurance that the undertaking will be compl... Read More

Posted on Texas Criminal Defense Blog on June 13th, 2016


Jun
13

In Harris County if you are charged with Assault-Family Violence the magistrate who sets your bond has statutory authority to delay your release from jail for up to an additional 48 hours after your bond has been posted. In order to do that the magis... Read More

Posted on Texas Criminal Defense Blog on June 13th, 2016